The self

Children should be helped to value themselves as unique human beings capable of spiritual, moral, intellectual and physical growth and development.

On the basis of these values, we aim to teach children to:

  • Develop an understanding of their own characters, strengths and weaknesses
  • Develop self-respect and self-discipline
  • Clarify the meaning and purpose in their lives and decide, on the basis of this, how they believe their lives should be lived
  • Make responsible use of their talents, rights and opportunities
  • Strive for knowledge, wisdom and understanding
  • Take responsibility, within their capabilities.


We believe that children should value others for themselves, not only for what they have or what they can do. They should be encouraged to value relationships as fundamental to the development and fulfilment of themselves and others, and to the good of the community.

On the basis of these values, we aim to teach children that they should:

  • Respect others, including adults and other children
  • Care for others and exercise goodwill in their dealings with them
  • Show others they are valued
  • Earn loyalty, trust and confidence
  • Work cooperatively with others
  • Respect the privacy and property of others
  • Resolve disputes peacefully


We believe that children should value truth, freedom, justice, human rights, the rule of law and collective effort for the common good. In particular, they should value families as sources of love and support for all their members, and as the basis of a society in which people care for others.

On the basis of these values, we aim to teach children that they should:

  • Understand and carry out their responsibilities as British citizens
  • Refuse to support values or actions that may be harmful to individuals or communities
  • View the family as the unit responsible for raising children and caring for dependants
  • Recognise that the love and commitment required for a secure and happy childhood can be found in families of different kinds
  • Know the difference between right and wrong and about the need for rules and laws
  • Respect rules and the law and encourage others to do so
  • Respect religious and cultural diversity
  • Promote opportunities for all
  • Seek to help those less fortunate than themselves
  • Promote equal opportunity and listen to the views of others
  • Contribute to, as well as benefit fairly from, economic and cultural resources
  • Make truth, integrity, honesty and goodwill priorities in their life.

The environment

We believe that children should value the environment, both natural and shaped by humanity, as the basis of life and a source of wonder and inspiration.

On the basis of these values, we aim to teach children that they should:

  • Accept responsibility to maintain a sustainable environment for themselves and future generations
  • Understand the place of human beings within nature
  • Understand their responsibilities for other species
  • Ensure that development can be justified
  • Preserve balance and diversity in nature wherever possible
  • Preserve areas of beauty and interest for future generations
  • Repair, wherever possible, habitats damaged by human development and other means.

Curriculum Structure

The curriculum in the Early Years Foundation Stage is structured under the 0-5 six areas of learning:

The curriculum at Key Stages 1 and 2 is structured into six areas of learning encompassing the fourteen subjects of the National Curriculum.

The International Primary Curriculum (I.P.C.)

The Foundation subjects are taught through the skills based International Primary Curriculum. The Units of work set out in the IPC are followed to deliver a creative, contextualised, skills based curriculum. The Units incorporate the subjects of the National Curriculum and routes are carefully mapped to ensure coverage of all required objectives.

Literacy, Numeracy, Science (at KS2), I.C.T., R.E., P.E., M.F.L. and Music are timetabled and taught as discrete subjects each week, but aspects of these subjects are also covered within IPC Units. The other subjects are taught through the themed units.

National curriculum subjects

The national curriculum subjects in which there are statutory expectations are:

  • Art and design
  • Citizenship
  • Design and technology
  • English
  • Geography
  • History
  • Information and communication technology
  • Mathematics
  • Modern foreign languages
  • Music
  • Physical education
  • Personal, social, health and economic education
  • Religious education
  • Science

These subjects have programmes of study for some or all of the key stages, which set out the subject knowledge, skills and understanding pupils are expected to develop during that particular key stage.

Curriculum dimensions

Cross-curriculum dimensions provide important unifying areas of learning that help young people make sense of the world and give education relevance and authenticity. They reflect the major ideas and challenges that face individuals and society.

They include:

  • Identity and cultural diversity
  • Healthy lifestyles
  • Community participation
  • Enterprise
  • Global dimension and sustainable development
  • Technology and the media
  • Creativity and Critical Thinking